Black Pepper Chicken with Cream of Mushroom and Spinach


Sometimes I think of dishes because my resources are limited and I have to get creative. Sometimes good things come out of it and sometimes…umm… not so great. This was one of the good times. =) I had some chicken breast and spinach leftover. I had thought about just mixing it together, throw some seasoning and be done with it. However, I was in a somewhat creative mood so I looked around my cupboard to see what I had. Some of the staples I have in my cupboard are chicken broth, canned clam chowder, quick-and-easy ramen noodles, cream of mushroom, Turkey Spam (the regular Spam is too salty for me, plus I try not to eat pork), etc. I ended up picking out the cream of mushroom (low fat and low sodium). This is actually a pretty simple and easy recipe that doesn’t need a lot of ingredients. Hope you like it!

Black Pepper Chicken with Cream of Mushroom and Spinach

What you need:

chicken breast (cut into large, thin pieces)

onions

black pepper

spinach

cream of mushroom

seasoning (used a poultry seasoning mix or you can just add a little salt)

olive oil (You can use whatever cooking oil you want. I always just use olive oil)

1. Heat oil then caramelize onions.

2. Cook chicken breast pieces. Season with black pepper and a dash of salt or poultry seasoning mix. Set aside when done.

3. Boil water and drop in spinach. Remove from the hot water after a few short minutes and strain. This cooks the spinach very quickly and helps to remove the bitter taste of spinach. Set aside.

4. In a sauce pan, heat up the canned cream of mushroom. Mixed in cooked spinach. There is no need to add any salt or seasoning to this sauce because it should be flavorful on its own.

5. Drizzle cream of mushroom and spinach on chicken breast.

6. (Optional) As you can see in the picture, I served this with brown rice. The first layer is the brown rice encircled by the spinach, then onions, chicken, drizzled with the cream of mushroom and topped with onions.

Or you can just skip the fancy schmancy presentation and just chow down. Up to you! =)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment