White Chocolate Chip Scones with Coffee Liqueur Glaze


I love scones. It’s not quite a cookie and it’s not quite a muffin. It’s in between and freshly baked scones are the yummiest! I thought of this recipe because I had leftover white chocolate chips from when I made my White Chocolate Chip Nutella Cookies and I also had a coffee liqueur left over. I didn’t want to waste it and I thought, why not put it together? So this is how this recipe was born. This was my first time making it and I actually liked how it came out. Maybe next time, I’ll add the coffee liqueur to the scones mixture as well, not just for the glaze. But that’s for another future recipe. ;-p

White Chocolate Chip Scones

What you need:

2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup white sugar (brown sugar works too)

1 tbs pure vanilla extract

pinch of salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup white chocolate chips

1 stick of unsalted butter – melted (Save about 2 tbs for the glaze and use the rest for the scones)

1 egg

1/4 cup milk

1. Pre-heat oven to 400F.

2. In a large mixing bowl, combine your dry ingredients: flour, pinch of salt, baking powder, sugar and white chocolate chips.

3. In another bowl, mix wet ingredients: egg, butter, vanilla extract, milk

4. Combine both mixtures together and create your dough gently. Once the dough is mixed, don’t over knead it. Over kneading makes the dough hard.

5. Place dough on a baking or cookie sheet. You don’t have to make perfect looking round balls for the scones. I made my scones in an oval shape.

6. Bake for about 16-18 minutes or until you see golden edges. Makes about 12-14 scones.

Coffee Liqueur Glaze

What you need:

1/3 cup coffee liqueur (Try Kahlua)

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tbs pure vanilla extract

2 tbs butter

1. Heat and combine all the ingredients together in a sauce pan. Mix thoroughly so that the sugar completely melts and thickens.

2. Drizzle all over your warm white chocolate scones.

These taste so good while warm so eat them right away. Try it with a cup of coffee or tea. =)

Beef Japanese Curry


One of the things I love about this recipe is that it’s quick, cheap and super easy. It’s amazing how simple this is to make yet tastes so good! Perfect if you think you’re the very best cook or don’t have a lot of time. It takes about 10-15 minutes to makes and you have a flavorful dish all ready.

Beef Japanese Curry

Japanese curry mix cubes – 3-4 cubes (You can buy this at almost any Asian supermarket)

beef chunks – small pieces

1 large carrot – cut into 1/2 in. slices

3-4 white mushrooms – sliced

1. Boil water then add beef chunks. When that’s done, drain the water and add about 2 cups of new water. I do this because I don’t like the beef residue when it first cooks.

2. Mix in the 3-4 cubes of curry to your beef and water. Bring to a boil and make sure the cubes have been completely melted.

3. In a separate sauce pan, boil water and cook the carrots and mushrooms. This step is optional because you can cook your vegetables in the same pot, however I kept them separated this time for the picture. I mixed them in after.

See 3 steps and you’re done! Pair it with either brown or white rice and you’re good to go!

Cheesy Turkey Spam Omelet


I made this omelet the same morning I made my Very Berry Blueberry Pancakes so that I would have something sweet and something salty too. I had some turkey spam leftovers, I wanted eggs and cheese so why not put it all together? =) Add some veggies and it’s perfect. The way I cooked this isn’t the usual fold over omelet though. I used a bowl to create the final shape.

Cheesy Turkey Spam Omelet

What you need:

4 eggs

1 medium tomato (diced)

2-3 slices of Turkey Spam – cut into squares (I don’t like the regular Spam because it’s too salty and contains pork, which I try not to eat. But you can use whatever Spam you like)

3-4 white mushrooms (diced)

shredded cheese (I used Mexican 4 cheeses blend)

cooking oil

seasoning for the eggs (black pepper, garlic salt)

1/4 cup milk (makes the eggs fluffier)

1. Beat eggs with milk and seasoning

2. Heat frying pan and add oil

3. Cook the Turkey Spam first. When that’s done, cook the mushrooms and tomatoes.

4. Add in the eggs last. Scramble the mixture all together.

5. Add shredded cheese at the bottom of the bowl. Put the cooked egg scramble in the bowl and press down to compact the mixture. Add more shredded cheese on top.

6. Place a plate on top of the bowl, flip over then remove the bowl.

7. You then have yummy, gooey, melted cheese underneath and on top of your omelet.

Very Berry Blueberry Pancakes


There’s something about pancakes that just puts me in a cheerful mood. When I think of pancakes, I think of brunch. When I think of brunch, I think of a relaxing summer day. I don’t know what it is, but pancakes make me happy. I’ve been craving pancakes for a while so I finally decided to make some yesterday morning. I made a few substitutions to this recipe as well such as using honey instead of sugar. I used fresh blueberries in this recipe too. None of that frozen stuff. =)

Very Berry Blueberry Pancakes

What you need:

pancake/baking mix (I thought about getting the ingredients separately for this but sometimes, it’s just cheaper and less time consuming to get the mix)

2 eggs

honey

Pam butter spray (You can use real butter but I wanted to try to reduce the calories for this recipe so I used the canned spray)

1 cup fresh blueberries

1/2 cup fresh strawberries – cut into small pieces (this goes on top of everything once it’s done)

1 cup milk (I use 2% milk)

1 cup powdered sugar (This is to top the pancakes so you can use more or less than 1 cup. Entirely up to you)

1. Mix the pancake mix, eggs, milk and honey until the mixture smooth and has texture. Make sure there are no clumps in the mixture.

2. Once the initial mixture is complete, add in the blueberries. The reason you don’t add this initially is because you want to keep the berries intact. Do not overly mix this.

3. Heat your pan and spray the Pam butter.

4. Use a measuring cup (or something similar) to scoop out the pancake mix and pour in the middle of the pan. The mixture should fan out.

5. Flip pancake and spray the butter on the other side. This prevents it from getting too brown.

6. Stack blueberry pancakes and use a strainer to add powdered sugar on top.

7. Garnish with fresh strawberries and more blueberries. You can add maple syrup or honey on the pancakes if you want it sweeter. Otherwise, the powdered sugar and fruits should be enough. Happy breakfasting! =)