Pineapple Upside Down Rum Cake


I came up with this idea after my vacation from the Caribbean and tasting the awesome Tortuga Rum cakes. This recipe is not entirely made from scratch. I used a cake mix and added my own touch from there. So for those of you that think you can’t bake… YOU CAN! =)

Pineapple Upside Down Rum Cake

What you need:

– cake mix (I used Betty Crocker Moist Yellow Cake mix)

– vanilla pudding mix (powder form)

– rum (I used Tortuga Banana rum – try to use the smoother rums instead of the grainy cheaper brands. It’ll taste much better)

– eggs

– pineapple slices

– spray butter (I use this to line the bunt cake shape pan; Spray butter works better than regular butter because it’s easier to spread)

– milk

1. Mix in yellow cake mix with the pudding mix and eggs (the box will give you measurement instructions) but instead of using water, add rum (add more if you like). The pudding usually requires milk so but add about half the required milk needed. Or you can do 1/4 milk and more rum. Mix thoroughly.

2. It’s in this stage that you can add your own flare to the mix like add chocolate chips or nuts, etc. I kept it plain for this one.

3. Spray the butter into your bunt cake pan. Make sure to cover it with butter well and spread evenly using a cooking brush.

4. Line the bottom of the bunt pan with pineapple slices.

5. Pour in your mix evenly and bake according to the instructions of your mix.

2 Comments

  1. I really like your addition of rum and the fact that you used a cake mix. I make a lot of cakes, but very few from scratch–I’m a firm believer in using mixes when possible (I think the only exception for me is carrot cake). Rock on. 🙂

  2. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment